Song from the Forest

Documentary Film / Germany / 2013 / 52′ & 97′

  • Author:Michael Obert
  • Director:Michael Obert
  • DOP:Siri Klug
  • Editor:Wiebke Grundler
  • Distribution:Real Fiction
  • World Sales:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:IDFA 2013 (VPRO IDFA Award for Best Feature-Length Documentary), ZagrebDox 2014

As a young man, American Louis Sarno heard a song on the radio that gripped his imagination. He followed the mysterious sounds all the way to the Central African rainforest and found their source with the Bayaka Pygmies, a tribe of hunters and gatherers.
He never left.

Today, twenty-five years later, Louis Sarno has recorded over 1,000 hours of unique Bayaka music. He is a fully accepted member of the Bayaka society and has a 13 year old son, Samedi. Once, when Samedi was a baby, he became seriously ill and Louis feared for his life. He held his son in his arms through a frightful night and made him a promise: “If you get through this, one day I’ll show you the world I come from.”

Now the time has come to fulfill his promise, and Louis travels with Samedi from the African rainforest to another jungle, one of concrete, glass, and asphalt: New York City. Together, they meet Louis’s family and old friends, including his closest friend from college, Jim Jarmusch.

Carried by the contrasts between rainforest and urban America, with a fascinating soundtrack and peaceful, loving imagery, their stories are interwoven to form a touching portrait of an extraordinary man, and his son.

A modern epic between rainforest and skyscrapers.

Tondowski Films & Friends in co-production with ma.ja.de and WDR. Supported by Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.

Trailer

Gallery

Song from the Forest

Dokumentarfilm / Deutschland / 2013 / 52′ & 97′

  • Buch:Michael Obert
  • Regie:Michael Obert
  • Kamera:Siri Klug
  • Schnitt:Wiebke Grundler
  • Verleih:Real Fiction
  • Vertrieb:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:IDFA 2013 (VPRO IDFA Award for Best Feature-Length Documentary), ZagrebDox 2014

Als junger Mann hörte der Amerikaner Louis Sarno im Radio einen Gesang, der ihn nicht mehr losließ. Er folgte den geheimnisvollen Klängen bis in den zentralafrikanischen Regenwald, fand ihren Ursprung bei den Bayaka-Pygmäen, einem Volk aus Jägern und Sammlern – und kam nicht mehr zurück.
Louis Sarno hat über 1000 Stunden einzigartiger Bayaka-Musik aufgezeichnet und ist heute, 25 Jahre nach seiner Ankunft, ein vollwertiges Mitglied der Gemeinschaft. Mit einer Bayaka-Frau hat er einen Sohn, den 13-jährigen Pygmäenjungen Samedi. Als Baby war Samedi schwer krank und lag im Sterben. Louis hielt ihn die ganze Nacht und versprach ihm: “Wenn du überlebst, zeige ich dir eines Tages die Welt, aus der ich gekommen bin.”
Nun löst er sein Versprechen ein und reist mit seinem Sohn aus dem afrikanischen Regenwald in jenen anderen Dschungel aus Beton, Glas und Asphalt – nach New York City. Gemeinsam treffen sie Louis´ Familie und alte Freunde, darunter seinen engsten Freund seit Collagetagen, Jim Jarmush.
Getragen vom Kontrast zwischen Regenwald und urbanem Amerika, einem faszinierenden Soundtrack und den ruhigen und intimen Bildern des Films verweben sich leise Geschichten zum berührenden Portrait eines außergewöhnlichen Mannes.

Ein modernes Epos zwischen Urwaldriesen und Wolkenkratzern.

Tondowski Films & Friends in Koproduktion mit ma.ja.de und WDR. Gefördert vom Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.

Trailer

Galerie