Pepe Mujica – Lessons from the Flowerbed

Documentary Film / Germany / 2014 / 52′ & 90′

  • Author:Heidi Specogna
  • Director:Heidi Specogna
  • DOP:Rainer Hoffmann
  • Editor:Kaya Inan, Christian Timmann
  • Distribution:Piffl Medien
  • World Sales:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:IDFA 2014

„Poor is not he who has little, but he who always needs more.“

Pepe Mujica has become famous for being the „world’s poorest president“. The former guerrilla fighter and flower grower is currently considered one of the most charismatic politicians of Latin America. Old and young believe in him thanks to his humble lifestyle and his unconventional manners, where political protocol is concerned. His political visions, among them his sensational regulation of the marihuana market, have created international interest.

Since the spring of 2010, Uruguay has been led by a president who, as a young man, revolted against the power of the state he now heads with both words and arms. Pepe Mujica was a founding member of the urban guerrilla group „Tupamaros“, which fought the state in the repressive Uruguay of the 1970s. During the dictatorship he spent many years in prison, during which he was also tortured – a time that formed, but did not break him.

Over the course of many years, the filmmakers visited Pepe Mujica, who is now 80, over and over again, documenting his eventful existence with their camera. In private meetings and conversations on his farm, which he still runs with his companion Lucía Topolansky, he grants them an insightful glimpse into his unusual beliefs and visions.

In co-production with WDR in association with arte and SRF. Supported by BKM, DFFF, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung and Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. Development supported by the MEDIA Programme of the European Union.

Gallery

Pepe Mujica – Lektionen eines Erdklumpens

Dokumentarfilm / Deutschland / 2014 / 52′ & 90′

  • Buch:Heidi Specogna
  • Regie:Heidi Specogna
  • Kamera:Rainer Hoffmann
  • Schnitt:Kaya Inan, Christian Timmann
  • Verleih:Piffl Medien
  • Vertrieb:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:IDFA 2014

„Arm ist nicht derjenige, der wenig besitzt, sondern derjenige, der immer mehr benötigt.“
Pepe Mujica ist als „ärmster Präsident der Welt“ zum Begriff geworden. Der ehemalige Guerillero und Blumenzüchter gilt als eine der charismatischsten politischen Persönlichkeiten Lateinamerikas. Sein bescheidener Lebensstil und sein unkonventionelles Auftreten auf dem politischen Parkett machen ihn glaubhaft für jung und alt. Seine politischen Visionen und Konzepte, wie etwa die spektakuläre Regulierung des Marihuanamarktes, erregen weltweites Aufsehen.
Seit Frühling 2010 wird Uruguay von einem Präsidenten regiert, der sich als junger Mann mit Stimme und Waffe gegen die Staatsmacht erhoben hat, die er heute mit seiner Person ausfüllt. Pepe Mujica, ist Gründungsmitglied der Stadtguerilla „Tupamaros“, die im repressiven Uruguay der siebziger Jahre dem Staat die Stirn bot. Während der Diktatur verbrachte er viele Jahre in Folterhaft – eine Zeit, die ihn geprägt, aber nicht gebrochen hat.
Über viele Jahre haben die Filmemacher den heute 80jährigen Pepe Mujica immer wieder besucht und sein bewegtes Leben mit der Kamera begleitet. In persönlichen Begegnungen und Gesprächen auf seinem Bauernhof, den er immer noch mit seiner Gefährtin Lucía Topolansky bewirtschaftet, gewährt er einen lebendigen Einblick in seine außergewöhnlichen Überzeugungen und Visionen.

In Koproduktion mit WDR in Zusammenarbeit mit arte und SRF. Gefördert von BKM, DFFF, Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg. Entwicklung gefördert vom MEDIA Programm der Europäischen Union.

Galerie