Condition

Documentary Film / Germany / 2012 / 73′

  • Author:Thomas Heise
  • Director:Thomas Heise
  • DOP:Peter Badel, Robert Nickolaus, Maxim Wolfram
  • Editor:Mike Gürgen
  • World Sales:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:Berlinale 2012, Visions du Réel 2012, Crossing Europe FF Linz 2012, Era New Horizons FF Wrocław 2012

The motorway has been shut. Mobile fences dissect the landscape. Helicopters keep abreast of the situation above maize fields and freshly ploughed farmland. Rows of portable toilets line the edge of the forest; others are grouped in compact, rectangular units out on the fields. Police stand in front. Helicopter landing pads have been set up, roads laid across the countryside, broadcasting towers erected and containers stacked on top of each other. Stages are being constructed; police cadets march to and fro. Down on the red carpet, the minister president and her husband are being assisted with their rehearsal in front of a gangway which leads into nothingness, while the motorcade rehearses the VIPs’ journey through the closed-off city. The state secretary is showing flower children what to do. Helicopters 1-6 are ready. What’s happening?
The German word LAGE (English: position, situation) comes from Middle High German and describes a “position of lying in wait”. Something is going on. This may be “a military, police or security situation: the situation of a military group in relation to their surroundings. A comprehensive view of the threat of government bodies or the reduction of domestic security. A situation which requires the police to act, factors and circumstances for rescue services which describe damaging events and damage prevention.”
The film DIE LAGE tells of the very same, when in September 2011 Pope Benedict XVI travelled to Germany as part of his plan to promote New Evangelisation, paying visits to the city of Erfurt and a site in the Eichsfeld region, both in Thuringia. The situation there is as one might expect. A few weeks later at St. Peter’s Basilica, the Pope announces his decision to declare a “Year of Faith”, to begin on 11 October 2012. “This will be a good opportunity to usher the whole Church into a time of particular reflection and rediscovery of the faith.”

Supported by Mitteldeutschen Medienförderung and German Films.

Gallery

Die Lage

Dokumentarfilm / Deutschland / 2012 / 73′

  • Buch:Thomas Heise
  • Regie:Thomas Heise
  • Kamera:Peter Badel, Robert Nickolaus, Maxim Wolfram
  • Schnitt:Mike Gürgen
  • Vertrieb:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:Berlinale 2012, Visions du Réel 2012, Crossing Europe FF Linz 2012, Era New Horizons FF Wrocław 2012

Hüben sich die Augenlieder,
Durch die Muskeln, selbst nicht auf,
Sondern süncken immer wieder,
(Ach man achte doch darauf!)

Wie erbärmlich würd’ es lassen,
Wenn man sie mit Händen fassen,
Und erst aufwärts schieben müst’!
Mercks, verstockter Atheist!

(Barthold Heinrich Brockes, 22.9.1680 – 16.1.1747)

Die Autobahn wird gesperrt. Mobile Zäune zerschneiden die Landschaft. Hubschrauber sondieren die Lage über Maisfeldern und frisch gepflügtem Äckern. Mobile Toiletten stehen in Reihen am Waldesrand und zu kompakten, rechteckigen Einheiten zusammengefasst auf freiem Feld. Polizei steht davor. Hubschrauberlandeplätze sind angelegt, Straßen durch die Landschaft gezogen, Sendemaste errichtet und Container zur Büroeinheit “Lage” gestapelt. Bühnen werden gebaut. Polizeischüler marschieren hin und her. Die Ministerpräsidentin und ihr Mann proben unter Anleitung auf dem Roten Teppich vor einer Gangway ins Nichts das Protokoll, die Fahrzeugkolonne die Fahrt der VIPs durch die gesperrten Straßen der Stadt. Hubschrauber 1-6 stehen bereit. Was geschieht?
Das Wort “Lage” kommt aus dem Mittelhochdeutschen und bezeichnet eine “liegende Lauerstellung.” Es liegt etwas vor. “Eine militärische, eine polizeiliche, eine Sicherheitslage: Die Situation eines militärischen Verbandes in Bezug auf seine Umwelt. Die Gesamtschau der Bedrohung staatlicher Organe oder die Einschränkung der Inneren Sicherheit. Eine Situation, in der von der Polizei ein Handeln gefordert ist, Faktoren und Gegebenheiten im Rettungswesen, die Schadensereignisse und Schadensabwehr beschreiben.”

Der Film DIE LAGE erzählt von derselben im September 2011, als Papst Benedikt XVI in Verwirklichung seiner Pläne zur Neuevangelisation auch Deutschland besucht, in Thüringen die Stadt Erfurt und ein Gelände im Eichsfeld. Die Lage dort ist entsprechend. Wenige Wochen später verkündet der Papst im Petersdom seinen Entschluss, ein “Jahr des Glaubens” auszurufen, das am 11. Oktober 2012 beginnen wird. “Es wird dies ein Moment der Gnade und des Einsatzes für eine immer vollständigere Umkehr zu Gott sein, um unseren Glauben an ihn zu stärken und ihn mit Freude dem Menschen unserer Zeit zu verkünden.”

Gefördert von der Mitteldeutschen Medienförderung und German Film.

Galerie