Bury my heart in Dresden

Documentary / Germany / 2012/ 90′

  • Author:Bettina Renner
  • Director:Bettina Renner
  • DOP:Ralf Noack
  • Editor:Frank Brummundt
  • World Sales:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:DOK Leipzig 2012, Tage des Ethnologischen Films Munich 2012, DOXA IDF Vancouver 2013, LA Skins FF Los Angeles 2013 (Award for Achievement in Documentary Filmmaking)

A Catholic cemetery in Dresden. A grey and weathered gravestone protrudes from the snow. At its foot stands a small American flag. The inscription on the old stone reveals who was laid to rest here in 1914: Edward Two Two, Sioux chief. Strange. How did one of the Sioux Indians, whose home is North America, end up in Dresden of all places? And why was he buried here?

Bettina Renner pursues this question, rummaging in archives and travelling to South Dakota’s Pine Ridge Reservation to visit Edward Two Two’s old homeland. Edward Two Two came to Germany as part of one of the so-called “human zoos”. In those days, people who fulfilled the local audience’s desire for the exotic would be taken from all over the world and presented in elaborately choreographed shows. The participants, who were sometimes paraded through town, would attract a lot of attention as soon as they arrived. Edward Two Two initially came with his wife and a granddaughter to Hagenbeck, based in Hamburg, later moving on to Dresden’s Sarrasani circus. At the time, Indians were the biggest attraction. Living in tepees in front of the circus tent, they were required to wear a feathered headdress and traditional clothing at all times as well as dance and sing. Flocking past, the large audiences loved them. They corresponded to a common, romanticised image of the Indians. Yet in their homeland the reality had long been far different. From their free life on the prairie, the Native Americans were forced into reservations and subjected to a programme of re-education. The consequences were fatal; hunger and disease were rife. How are things today in the reservation Edward Two Two left behind for Germany at the beginning of the last century? Bettina Renner embarks upon a journey, meeting descendants of Edward Two Two. Gradually she comes closer to the answer of why the Lakota Sioux Edward Two Two, who in real life was never a chief, was determined that his final resting place be in Dresden soil.

In co-production with MDR in association with arte. Supported by Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung, Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen and Stadt Dresden. Development supported by the MEDIA Programme of the European Union.

Gallery

Begrabt mein Herz in Dresden

Dokumentarfilm / Deutschland / 2012 / 90′

  • Buch:Bettina Renner
  • Regie:Bettina Renner
  • Kamera:Ralf Noack
  • Schnitt:Frank Brummundt
  • Vertrieb:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:DOK Leipzig 2012, Tage des Ethnologischen Films Munich 2012, DOXA IDF Vancouver 2013, LA Skins FF Los Angeles 2013 (Award for Achievement in Documentary Filmmaking)

Ein katholischer Friedhof in Dresden. Aus dem Schnee ragt ein grauer und verwitterter Grabstein. An seinem Fuß weht eine kleine amerikanische Flagge. Die Inschrift auf dem alten Stein verrät, wer hier im Jahr 1914 zur letzten Ruhe gebettet wurde: Edward Two Two, Häuptling der Sioux. Seltsam. Wie kommt ein Indianer der Sioux, dessen Heimat Nordamerika ist, ausgerechnet nach Dresden? Und warum wurde er hier begraben?

Bettina Renner geht dieser Frage nach, gräbt in Archiven und reist in die alte Heimat von Edward Two Two, ins Pine Ridge Reservat nach South Dakota. Edward Two Two kam im Rahmen der sogenannten „Völkerschauen“ nach Deutschland. Damals holte man sich Völker aus aller Welt, die dem Verlangen des einheimischen Publikums nach Exotischem entsprachen, und präsentierte sie im Rahmen aufwendig choreografierter Schauen. Schon die Ankunft der Teilnehmer erregte unter anderem mit Umzügen durch die Stadt viel Aufsehen. Edward Two Two kam mit seiner Frau und einer Enkeltochter zunächst zu Hagenbeck nach Hamburg, später nach Dresden zum Zirkus Sarrasani. Die Indianer waren damals die Attraktion schlechthin. Sie lebten vor dem Zirkuszelt in Tipis, waren verpflichtet immer Federhaube und traditionelle Kleidung zu tragen, zu tanzen und zu singen. Das zahlreich herbeiströmende Publikum liebte sie. Sie entsprachen einem gängigen, romantisch verklärten Indianerbild. Doch die Realität in ihrer Heimat war längst eine andere. Aus einem freien Leben in der Prärie wurden die Ureinwohner Amerikas in Reservate gezwungen und einem Umerziehungsprogramm unterworfen. Die Folgen waren fatal, es herrschten Hunger und Krankheiten. Wie sieht es heute in dem Reservat aus, von dem Edward Two Two Anfang des letzten Jahrhunderts aus nach Deutschland aufbrach? Bettina Renner macht sich auf die Reise und trifft auf Nachfahren Edward Two Twos. Nach und nach kommt sie der Antwort näher, warum sich der Lakota-Sioux Edward Two Two, der im wahren Leben nie ein Häuptling war, zu dem Schritt entschloss, in der Erde Dresdens seine letzte Ruhestätte zu finden.

In Koproduktion mit MDR in Zusammenarbeit mit arte. Gefördert von der Mitteldeutschen Medienförderung, der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen und der Stadt Dresden. Entwicklung gefördert vom MEDIA Programm der Europäischen Union.

Galerie