Bad Weather

Documentary / Germany – UK / 83′ / 2011

  • Author:Giovanni Giommi
  • Director:Giovanni Giommi
  • DOP:Giovanni Giommi
  • Editor:Fabio Capalbo
  • World Sales:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:DOK Leipzig 2011, IDFA 2011, ZagrebDox 2012 (Special Mention), Visions du RĂ©el Nyon 2012, Bellaria FF 2012 (Best Italian Doc Award), Message to Man St. Petersburg IFF 2012, Vancouver IFF 2012, Flahertiana IDF Perm 2012 (Award for Best Documentary), Margaret Mead FVF New York 2012 (Special Mention), nominated for Cinema for Peace Award 2012, nominated for the Italian David di Donatello 2013

BAD WEATHER tells the story of Banishanta Island. It is made up of a community of sex workers. Living on a tiny sliver of land 100 meters long and only ten meters wide in the Bay of Bengal, south Bangladesh, this community survives at the frontline of climate change. The rising river, soil erosion and frequent cyclones are slowly destroying what is left of the island. Razia, Khadija and Shefali, three of the last 65 women left living there, are in a battle for their homes, the future of their families, and even their quest for true love. As they strive to hold onto their livelihood, time is running out. Soon the whole of Banishanta will be totally submerged under water, making it one of the first real casualties of the shifting global environment.

In co-production with Century Films, Cornbread Films and ZDF in association with arte, YLE (FI), TG4 (IE), NRK (NO). Supported by Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung and the MEDIA Programme of the European Union.

Bad Weather

Dokumentarfilm / Deutschland – UK / 2011/ 83′

  • Buch:Giovanni Giommi
  • Regie:Giovanni Giommi
  • Kamera:Giovanni Giommi
  • Schnitt:Fabio Capalbo
  • Vertrieb:Deckert Distribution
  • Festivals:DOK Leipzig 2011, IDFA 2011, ZagrebDox 2012 (Special Mention), Visions du Réel Nyon 2012, Bellaria FF 2012 (Best Italian Doc Award), Message to Man St. Petersburg IFF 2012, Vancouver IFF 2012, Flahertiana IDF Perm 2012 (Award for Best Documentary), Margaret Mead FVF New York 2012 (Special Mention), nominated for Cinema for Peace Award 2012, nominated for the Italian David di Donatello 2013

BAD WEATHER erzählt die Geschichte von Banishanta Island. Sie besteht aus einer Gemeinschaft von Sexarbeiterinnen. Auf dem winzigen, 100 Meter langen und nur 10 Meter breiten Landstreifen im Golf von Bengalen, Südbangladesch, überlebt diese Gemeinschaft am Rande des Klimawandels. Ihre Insel wird allmählich durch das Ansteigen des Flusses, Bodenerosion und häufige Zyklone zerstört. Razia, Khadija und Shefali, drei der letzten dort lebenden 65 Frauen, kämpfen um ihr Zuhause, die Zukunft ihrer Familien und um die wahre Liebe. Während sie versuchen, ihre Existenz zu sichern, arbeitet die Zeit gegen sie. Bald wird ganz Banishanta vom Wasser weggespült sein – eines der ersten wirklichen Opfer des Klimawandels.

In Koproduktion mit Century Films, Cornbread Films und ZDF in Zusammenarbeit mit arte, YLE (FI), TG4 (IE), NRK (NO). Gefördert durch die Mitteldeutsche Medienförderung und dem MEDIA Programm der Europäischen Union.

Trailer

Galerie